About the Author

A Portrait of the Writer

William House
3 min readFeb 10, 2023

--

(Pinned to the top of my Medium page for background information)

Portrait of the Artist by WM House (©2023 Archean Enterprises, LLC; ArcheanArt)

Perceived and unperceived events impinge on our lives each day, conspiring to mold us like clay on a potter’s wheel, shaping who we are from the womb until the last breath of life is exhaled. This process may start before we are born or even conceived and may continue beyond our brief flicker of existence. But the realm beyond our conscious understanding remains a mystery we can’t explore through words and logic.

We only see life through the lens of our own experiences. Life molds us into parents, spouses, engineers, gardeners, pilots, clerks, … and the list goes on. So, consider the multifaceted individuals we each represent when I tell you I’m a writer and artist. The reality is I’m only referring to two versions of myself.

I like to write, and one version of myself is an author. Akin to meditation, a bit of writing in the morning is a cathartic process. There is satisfaction in releasing some inner thoughts into the wild. I publish on Medium as one of my outlets because there is also some satisfaction in having a few others read my inner musings. Additionally, Medium provides the opportunity to pair my art and writing together into individual pieces. But there is more to life than Medium.

--

--

William House

Exploring relationships between people and our planet.